NOW, my day is finished

Today my manager asked me why I was tired when I came to work at 2 pm and he woke up earlier than I did. With a chuckle I answered, “because I was with my 2 year old son all day.” While he, on the other hand, was at work.

The short exchange reminded me of comment I made to my brother several months ago. His schedule changes all the time so he often stays over night at my house when he has to work early the next morning. One day he was with me for most of the late afternoon and all evening. I was busy as usual, picking up kids from school, picking up Mommy from work, grocery shopping, etc. and he just tagged along that day. It wasn’t until about 11:00 pm that Squirt had finally gone to bed. My wife and daughter also turned in for the night about the same time so it was just him and I. I took another few minutes to pick up toys and clear the counters in the kitchen. When I finally sat down on the couch to enjoy a beer with him the first thing I said to him was, “NOW, my day is finished.” It was the first chance I got to sit down and relax that day.

Any parent can agree that we are often sleep deprived and tired from our extremely full day of being the parent of our beloved toddlers. I love my son and I love hanging with him, just father and son. Infact, my favorite days of week have become my days off because I get to spend the whole day with him. Since he was born I’ve spent every day off with him.

It takes a lot of energy to keep up with and entertain a toddler all day long and I for one love it. All the meal making, bathroom trips, washing of little hands, running around, climbing over toys. All the, where are we going? What’s that? Why? questions. The nap times, temper tantrums, snack times, cleaning up after snack times. The fact that it now takes three times as long to do errands as it normally would if I was by myself. And, of course, the few minutes I sometimes get at the end of the day to myself. It my sound tiring but it is my life.

So cheers to all the Dads (and Moms) making it through their busy days with their toddlers and loving every minute of it. I will think of you all at the end of a long, great day with my son when I finally sit down to enjoy a cold beer.

As my son often says when he is drinking his cup of juice and I happen to have a glass of whatever in my hand, “CHEERS!”

Comments:

