Truck maintenance, brand new lost tools and Daddy’s new right hand man

Spending time with my son or having a productive day are always good days in my book but rarely easy to accomplish on the same day. My days off are almost always completely spent watching Squirt like a hawk. I’m what you might call an over protective parent so I very rarely leave him in a room by himself for more than a few seconds. I love spending time with him but it leaves very little time to get work done around the house which, to me, means I have to take my eyes off of him, which I don’t like doing, not even at home.

This week I found myself needing to reinstall the alternator for our truck and with no one to watch Squirt while I did it. So I put him in the cab with all the doors open and with a hand full of harmless tools, including my new socket set, while I worked under the hood. Of course I had to explain to him that he will help me fix the truck, an idea that he loved, and that he couldn’t get himself into any trouble where he would need my help or put anything in his mouth, which is sometimes his course of action whenever he gets a curious object in his hands. Much to my relief he kept himself safe and busy while I installed the alternator and passed tools to me when I needed them. He loves doing guy stuff just as much as I do, especially if it involves tools.

Since he was born it’s become a constant struggle to spend my free time with him or dedicate it to getting some work done around the house. I gotta say, it’s like a weight lifted off my shoulder’s to know that he is getting old enough to help me out on something like fixing the truck and it has been one of the best experiences I’ve had with him, one that I will remember for a very long time. Of course he did manage to lose one of my brand new shiny sockets that I purchased just the day before but it’s a small price to pay to gain a new right hand man.

Comments:

