Daddy’s lonely pillow

Two nights ago, Squirt, finally began sleeping on his own bed again and I realized something I seriously didn’t see coming. Until now, Squirt, has always slept in our bed and I’ve gotten use to it. While he is taking to his new bed like a champ, I have been tossing and turning in my bed for two nights. Then it dawned on me that I haven’t been able to sleep because he is not there.

Some of my favorite nightly experiences have been when he snuggles up next to me and takes over my pillow. Yeah, many mornings I wake up with neck pains, back pains or both but that’s a fine price to pay to let my two year old son fall asleep on his daddy’s pillow. Now that he has his own bed I don’t have that special time at the end of the day with him any more and my pillow feels very lonely.

I never thought I’d be left behind when it comes to passing milestones but here I am. Of course, I am glad he is not afraid to sleep alone in his own bed and I am glad that my wife and I now have the bed to ourselves again but I can’t help but miss him on my pillow.

2 thoughts on “Daddy’s lonely pillow

  1. I’m not sure what my twins are going to do when they are 2, but they do sleep in their own room at night. We have to do this to keep bedtime manageable for ourselves. Sometimes they do need a little help getting to sleep and we curl up on the couch with them. I have to admit I really enjoy those moments.

Comments:

