Negotiating my bathroom privileges with my 3 year old son

At three years old my son still depends on me for a lot of things–fixing his bike, tying his shoes, wiping his boogers off his face, accompanying him to the bathroom.  Wait, scratch that last one.

His usual morning routine consists of a morning piss and a morning dump, often at separate times.  He just lets me know when he has to “go” then he waits for me to get up and take him to the bathroom.  I guess today something clicked and he realized he can do this on his own.  Here’s what went down today after he woke up and was ready to “go”.

Squirt:  “Dad, I have to go pee-pee!”

Me:  “Okay, let’s go.”

Squirt:  “NO, don’t follow me.”

He stops me dead in my tracks by straight arming me with both arms.

Me:  “But I need to help you.”

Squirt:  “NOOO, don’t follow me.”

He straight arms me again.

Me:  “But.”

Squirt:  (almost angry now) “DON’T FOLLOW ME.”

Me:  “Well, let me open the door for you.”

Squirt:  “Don’t follow me dad.”

He points a stern finger at me and holds his stare to see if I will challenge him again.

Me:  “Fine, go then.”

He turns, runs down the hallway, opens my bedroom door and closes it behind him.  I hear the door to our master bath open and then immediately close again.  I give him a minute or two then I see him emerge from my bedroom and close the door behind him.  He comes running back down the hallway with a smile on his face and goes straight for his bicycle.

Me:  “Did you wash your hands?”

Squirt:  “Yes dad.”

I love mornings with my son. 🙂

Comments:

