Our First Bedtime Story Book

I've never been much of a bookworm but now that I am a parent think reading would definitely be a good trait for Squirt to pick up.  I'm ashamed to say that in the three plus years since he was born I've hardly read anything to him.  However, for the benefit of my son, and I guess myself as well, reading 'books' is a habit I will have to pick up.

Last night I read a bedtime story to him for the very first time.  I wasn't sure how Squirt would react to a bedtime story but I'm happy to say it went very well, much better than I expected.  The book I read to him was a Pinocchio pop up book with rhyming words.  We settled into bed together and he seemed very excited.  He was smiling and laughing after the very first page.  I stopped along the story to explain to him who the characters were in the illustration and he loved it.  He even asked me to read it AGAIN.  It was relieving to see him enjoy a book so much because, in the back of my mind, I knew we really should have been doing this all along.  We read the book again while sharing his pillow and he loved it.  I had to put the book away and turn off the lights for him to stop asking to read it again and agree to go sleep.

Tomorrow I will pick up another book for him and hopefully we can make this a new bed time ritual.

Comments:

