Defending The Fort

About 4:30 this morning I wake up to get a drink of water.  As I’m sipping my glass of refreshing, cold water I look up at my kitchen ceiling and see one of these uglies.

dangerous_recluse_spider.jpg
Dangerous Brown Recluse Spider

Aside from the usual gecko or army of ants we don’t usually get much critters inside the house.  I should also mention that I hate spiders, any one that knows me can attest to this fact.  This thing was probably three inches across and that is fucking huge to me.  Not to mention, I’ve never seen this kind of spider before so it was really intimidating and I did not want it in my house with my children.

My first reaction to the sight of this thing was, “Holy fuck!” followed immediately by, “How do I kill this thing?”

I tried swatting it down with a broom but the little shit was quick and crawled into a high storage shelf that adjoins the kitchen.  Great, now it had a shit load of places to hide and ambush me.  I needed better weaponry but only had the broom and bug spray.

For half an hour I prodded behind boxes and old tools.  Every time I moved something I could hear it crawling.  Judging only by the sound of it crawling I finally cornered it in a cardboard box.  Problem was, the box was huge and the shelf was six feet off the ground.  I could easily pull the box down but that would leave me vulnerable to its attack.

I wanted this thing dead so I managed to get the box down and outside where I located it in one corner and emptied a can of bug spray on it.

Many hours later I looked up these fun facts and pictures about its bite.

As indicated by its name, this spider is not aggressive and usually bites only when pressed against the skin, such as when tangled up within clothes, bath towels, or in bedding. A minority of brown recluse spider bites form a necrotizing ulcer that destroys soft tissue and may take months to heal, leaving deep scars. The damaged tissue will become gangrenous and eventually slough away. The initial bite frequently cannot be felt and there may be no pain, but over time the wound may grow to as large as 10 inches (25 cm) in extreme cases. Bites usually become painful and itchy within 2 to 8 hours; pain and other local effects worsen 12 to 36 hours after the bite with the necrosis developing over the next few day.

dangerous_violin_day5.jpg dangerous_violin_day6.jpg dangerous_violin_day10.jpg

I lost about an hours sleep tracking and killing this thing but I couldn’t sleep well sharing the same house with it.

2 thoughts on “Defending The Fort

  1. Yuck! I hate spiders also. Luckily, we have some big house centipedes that keep the spider population in check. I’m fine with the house centipedes so long as they stay out of my sight. (Which is just what they’ve been doing recently.)

Comments:

