Signs I AM a Dad

I’ve been a dad since 2007 and sometimes, to this day, I still can’t believe it but every now and then my life reminds me that I am really indeed a dad.  Check out my list of signs that I AM a dad.

 

  1. I used to wake up early to go to the gym.  Now I wake up early to get the kids ready for school.
  2. I sometimes find myself drinking a rum and coke from a plastic child cup with easy grip sides.
  3. My most used tool in the house has become a vacuum cleaner.
  4. I used to drool over the gadgets with a “cool” factor.  Now I drool over gadgets with a “child friendly” factor.
  5. I’ve given up any chance of having a clean house for longer than 20 minutes.
  6. Ditto for the vehicles.
  7. Some of my friends now refer to me as Squirt’s Dad instead of John.
  8. When I’m out by myself and I run into old friends their first question is, “Where’s Squirt?”
  9. I think more about what to do with my kids on Sunday than I do about the NFL games that day.
  10. I’ve developed eyes in the back of my head.
  11. That little short guy in my house is always calling me dad (still cool to hear that to this day).
  12. I am constantly being cockblocked by that same little short guy.
  13. Going to the bathroom is no longer a private affair.

Comments:

