Portable Gaming Platforms For A 4-Year-Old?

Last year I passed on my beloved iPod Touch to Squirt, my four-year old son.  It was actually a Christmas gift I got from my wife years ago (1st generation iPod Touch) and it had an engraving on the back so even though it was now his, it still had sentimental value to me.  A few days ago he misplaced it and we haven’t been able to find it yet so I’m sad to say, it looks like it is gone for good.    It was still in great condition too and had a flawless screen–no easy feat when living with two kids.  Squirt loved it as much as I did so he is constantly asking for his iPod.

This could be an opportunity to get him something better but what?  Another iPod?  PSP?  3DS?  Things I’m considering:

  1. Price of the device.
  2. Also, the price for games and/or apps.  I don’t want to spend a fortune on games/apps.
  3. Playability — He is four years old so the platform of choice needs to have a large library of suitable games.  I know the Apple app store has a lot of games that are both educational and easy enough for a four-year old to play.  I really haven’t played any other games on other portable gaming platforms.
  4. Ease of use.  My boy pretty much grew up with that iPod so he is adept at the touch screen interface.  I’m not sure how complicated or intuitive other devices (PSP, 3DS) are?

So parents, please help me out here with the poll below and any thoughts you may have to add in the comments:

UPDATE: I found Squirt’s iPod Touch under the driver’s seat of our truck.  He is quite happy now so we won’t need to buy him another one.  Although, I think our daughter (and me *cough*) could use a new iPod.

4 thoughts on “Portable Gaming Platforms For A 4-Year-Old?

  1. Nintendo? Really? Will check it out for a possible purchase down the road. We did find his iPod so we will not be getting anything new for now. Most of the games I’ve put on his iPod are of the educational nature so I have no problem with those at his age.

Comments:

